L’Oréal USA has announced the winners of its 2017 Changing the Face of STEM mentoring grants, with the grants helping to fund STEM programs across the US in California, Connecticut, Florida, Maryland, Missouri, New York, Texas and Utah.

The winners were: Dr. Arpita Bose, Dr. Livia S. Eberlin, Dr. Gigi Galiana, Dr. Joanna Kelley, Dr. Laura Lapham, Dr. M. Nia Madison, Dr. Nozomi Nishimura, Dr. Pardis Sabeti, Dr. Sridevi Sarma, and Dr. Luisa Whittaker-Brooks, all of whom are L’Oréal USA FWIS Fellows.

The CTFS program is now in its second year and works towards helping former FWIS fellows in the work of science and encourage future women in STEM, with the $2500 grants used to fund projects in the communities.

Lauren Paige, Vice President of Public Affairs & Strategic Initiatives at L’Oréal USA, said, “Inspiring the next generation of women in STEM is a key component of the For Women in Science program.
“We are proud to build on this commitment through our Changing the Face of STEM grant program and support our fellows in their efforts to promote STEM education in communities across the country.” 

Meanwhile grant winner Dr. M. Nia Madison, Assistant Professor at Miami Dade College and 2010 L’Oréal USA FWIS Fellow, said, “As a two-time Changing the Face of STEM grantee, this program has enabled me to create and now expand the reach of my Miami Dade College Microbiology Girls Club.
“Bringing minority high school girls to a college campus and exposing them to careers in biomedical sciences is crucial to increasing the representation of women in STEM.”